Softball tournament schedules set

Posted On: Monday, May 2, 2022

VW Softball

 Northwest Ohio high school softball teams found out their tournament schedules Sunday afternoon as the Ohio High School Athletic Association hosted sectional/district tournament draws.

Van Wert will take part in the Division II district hosted by University of Northwestern Ohio with the third seeded Cougars welcoming in fourth seeded Celina on May 10. The winner of that contest returns to action on May 13 with a battle at second seeded St. Marys.

Lima Shawnee and Napoleon will square off May 10 in a sectional semifinal with that winner visiting Bryan in a sectional championship on May 13.

Elida and Defiance will also meet in a sectional final on May 13 while Lima Bath and Kenton will also meet in a sectional title matchup.

The winner of the Van Wert-Celina-St. Marys bracket will take on either Lima Bath or Kenton on May 19 at UNOH.

The Division IV district tournament at Wapakoneta saw Minster, Crestview and Lincolnview garner the top three seeds.

In sectional semifinal action on May 9, 12th seeded Waynesfield Goshen travels to 11th seeded Spencerville while seventh seeded Marion Local makes the trip to fifth seeded St. Henry. Eighth seeded Ridgemont visits fourth seeded Fort Recovery with tenth seeded New Bremen traveling to ninth seeded Upper Scioto Valley. The remaining first round game has sixth seeded Parkway welcoming in 13th seeded Lima Perry.

Sectional championship action on May 12 will have the Spencerville/Waynesfield Goshen winner taking on Minster while the St. Henry-Marion Local and Ridgemont-Fort Recovery winners will meet as well. Crestview awaits the winner of the New Bremen-Upper Scioto Valley contest and Lincolnview will play the victor of the Parkway-Lima Perry contest.

In Division IV district play at Elida, picking up the top seed was Wayne Trace followed by North Baltimore and Leipsic.

Opening round play will take place on May 9 with 11th seeded Cory Rawson at 12th seeded Kalida, 13th seeded Hardin Northern visits fifth seeded Columbus Grove, ninth seed Lima Central Catholic at fourth seeded Bluffton, tenth seeded Ottoville visits seventh seeded McComb and eighth seeded Arlington sixth seeded Ada.

Wayne Trace is in the top portion of the bracket as the Lady Raiders will host the winner of the Cory Rawson-Kalida matchup on May 12. The lower slots of that bracket will feature the winners of the Hardin Northern-Columbus Grove and Lima Central Catholic-Bluffton winners tangling with each other.

In the bottom half of the district bracket is second seeded North Baltimore, which will play the winner of the Ottoville-McComb matchup. Lastly, third-seeded Leipsic will play either Arlington or Ada in a sectional championship game.

Bryan is also a Division IV district site with Hilltop, Antwerp and Edgerton grabbing the top three seeds.

The top-seeded Cadets open sectional play May 9 by battling 13th seeded Fayette with the winner taking on 12th seeded Continental on May 12. Fifth seeded North Central hosts sixth seeded Ayersville and fourth seeded Miller City welcomes in ninth seeded Hicksville in sectional semifinal play on May 9. Those two winners will square off on May 12.

In the bottom portion of the bracket, tenth seeded Pettisville hosts 11th seeded Holgate in a sectional semifinal with the winner visiting second seeded Antwerp. The remaining sectional semifinal features eighth seeded Edon at seventh seeded Stryker and third seeded Edgerton will play the winner.

A dozen local schools will take part in the Division III district hosted by Lima Bath where Liberty Benton, Coldwater, Van Buren and Riverdale picked up the top four seeds.

Games slated for Tuesday, May 10, include 12th seeded Ottawa Glandorf at sixth seeded Elmwood, ninth seeded Patrick Henry at eighth seeded Allen East, 11th seeded Delphos Jefferson at seventh seeded Paulding and tenth seeded Fostoria at fifth seeded Fairview.

Top seeded Liberty Benton awaits the winner of the Ottawa Glandorf-Elmwood game for a sectional final contest on Friday, May 13, while second-seeded Coldwater plays the victor of the game between Patrick Henry and Allen East.

The winner of the Paulding-Delphos Jefferson battle will visit Van Buren in sectional championship action and Riverdale will host the team that emerges from the Fairview-Fostoria contest.

Original Article Courtesy to Times Bulletin

Back to School News      Print News Article